Posted in Blogging

Lessons from the street

Salamun ‘alaikum!

The recent past hasn’t been exactly as expected; indeed I knew things wouldn’t always be the way I wanted, so I am learning to accept things as they come and in their unique forms! It’s been a long busy day, the journey wasn’t so super anyways, and I could feel the forces within my head settling to unleash that ‘ultimate super-hero’ headache. Fortunate enough, I was already in my home town but the only seeming problem here was the traffic, how do I just get out of it and magically find myself resting on my bed at home, and again, I was in a very bad mood… just really upset!

So I tilted my rested head a little to one side so I could get a good view of what was going on outside my window on the streets. As I was looking, a man came to my window pane, he was speech-impaired… yeah I read that from a piece of paper he held in his hands.
So he was probably requesting for money from me, (for very unimportant reasons) I was so upset I looked away from him, hoping he’d go away too. but after a while, he was still standing there, making gestures with his hands, but then as I turned to look at him and perhaps, just tell him to go for now, I saw that he wasn’t requesting for money.

I could read the expression on his face supported by the gestures of his hands of course, he wore a questioning expression and moved his hands as though he was asking me; “what is wrong? Why are you upset?” After wards, he’d use his hands to rub against his chest warmly as though saying; “Don’t worry, be calm” and then, he’d smile, then raise his hands up, then point towards himself and then towards me like; “Don’t worry, Allah will provide for me and for you too”.
He kept waving his hands and repeating his gestures until I finally smiled at him and he nodded his head in satisfaction, Alhamdulillah we became friends afterwards.

He stood by that street, welcoming everyone passing by, cheering them on and sharing his brilliant smile. Soon, the traffic lightened and our car walked past him, my sight caught his and he was still with the same vibrant smile, waving goodbye at me! Now I was left to myself, I was beginning to question my genuine reason for being so upset earlier… why I was even angry.
Was it the entire journey? Or the wrong forces I’ve given just too much importance in my life, I needed to re-prioritise my affairs and who and what I give attention to or perhaps I give important roles to!

Well, if we compare my ‘obvious’ state to that speech-impaired man, it would be as though i had all he could possibly dream of, but there he was, with very little, yet striving with his utmost to restore smiles back on other people’s faces.
He didn’t let his predicament eat the better of his genuine state of being. True, he was seeking for aid, but then if you didn’t have snouty y to give him, it was enough for him that you depart from him with a pleasant feeling, other people’s happiness also meant something to him… such is life indeed!

Never let your mood alter you thinking and your judgements regarding others, never give the wrong forces too much importance, and be supportive, even if it were with just little. Use the means at your disposal to aid yourself, sometimes; bringing smile to other people’s faces could be a reason for your own immense inner peace and serene state of being. And remember too, that these blessings you are overlooking, these good that has been bestowed upon you that you do not see; remember that there are people out there with far more better in goodness than yourself that would do a greater amount of good with this blessing you are overlooking… be overly thankful to Allah!

Author:

A little something about me! How about we go straight. Putting everything in written words, is definitely what i am obsessed with. Though i live in a world of science (a student of Chemistry/Biochemistry) which i also do love a lot too but when science runs wild and gets complicated, i run to my world of art to get things back in shape... to get my head a little less entangled in the web of science. Lets say i just love to maintain a balance between the two and writing my thoughts helps a lot with that. So my interest in blogging is built on my love for writing, everything goes down in written words. I say I write anything write able; from shorts articles to books (mostly fictional...) I love poetry, inspiring articles and short stories, nature, funny quotes and photos, everything that's gotta do with worthy creativity! Like i said, its all in words, my experience, life lessons and thoughts will be going here. If it turns out poetic, that'll be perfect! Sending positive and hopeful signals to a needing heart and restoring smiles to a grief stricken face gives breath and life it self... so my life literally can only be described as fulfilling when I am of positive help to others. If people could get the feelings attached to my written words, that'll be a job well done for me, So i am looking forward to that! I wrote once that what the poet's pen has written down, carries a lot more that the seeming words scribbled down on the surface, its deeper than you think, its sublime... it carries more than you can imagine... i think that's what i am about! Meeting and learning literally from new people is a dream come true, i hope i'd get that from you. I might never have the right words in a difficult phase but scorn vs being will definitely be pacific! Hey! The name is Jameelah! Thanks for the visit and looking forward to what Fate has in store for me and you! :)

Leave a Reply

